What are the grades and stages of cervical cancer?

Doctor looking at scan pictures on a computer screen
What is grading and staging?

Grading describes the cancer cells – what they look like and how they might grow

Staging describes where the cancer is in your body

What are the grades of cervical cancer?

Grade 1 (low-grade)

The cancer cells look only slightly abnormal, much like normal cervical cells. The cancer is usually slow-growing and less likely to spread than high-grade cervical cancer.

Grade 2 

The cancer cells look less like normal cells. The cancer is more likely to spread than low-grade cervical cancer.

Grade 3 (High-grade) 

The cancer cells look fairly or very abnormal and are more likely to grow quickly. Read more about types of cervical cancer.

What are the stages of cervical cancer?

Staging means finding out how big the cancer is and if it has spread to other parts of your body. Staging will help your doctor to plan the best treatment for you.

The stages of cervical cancer are usually numbered 0 to 4 and can be further subdivided into A and B. A higher number, such as stage 4, means a more advanced cancer.

Stage 0

Cancer cells are found in the surface layer of the cervix only.

Stage 1

Cancer cells are found in the cervix only.

Stage 2

Cancer cells have spread to the top of the vagina or side of the cervix.

Stage 3

Cancer cells have spread to the pelvis.

Stage 4

Cancer cells have spread to other body organs and tissues.

We have more detailed information on the stages of cervical cancer.

Staging can be hard to understand, so ask your doctor and nurse for more information if you need it.

For more information

Icon: Phone


1800 200 700

Icon: Email