What are the types of womb cancer?

womb cancer diagram

There are two main types of womb cancer:

Endometrial cancer: The cancer starts in the lining of the womb (endometrium). This accounts for 95 % of all womb cancers and adenocarcinoma is the most common type. Other endometrial cancers include:

  • Clear cell carcinoma
  • Serous carcinoma
  • Carcinosarcoma

Sarcoma of the womb: This cancer affects the muscle layers of the womb as opposed to the lining. The most common type is leiomyosarcoma. It is far less common that endometrial cancer.

Knowing the type of womb cancer you have will help your medical team to decide on the best treatment for you. 

For more information

Icon: Phone


1800 200 700

Icon: Email