What are the types of Hodgkin lymphoma?

Female patient at a doctor's appointment

On this page:

Hodgkin lymphoma is divided into two types: 

Classical Hodgkin lymphoma

Most people with Hodgkin lymphoma have this type. It is divided into four subtypes, which are treated in the same way:

  • Nodular sclerosing: The most common subtype. Mainly affects younger adults and women
  • Mixed cellularity: More common in men than in women
  • Lymphocyte rich: Quite rare. Mainly affects children
  • Lymphocyte depleted: Mainly affects older people

Nodular lymphocyte-predominant Hodgkin lymphoma (NLPHL) 

This type of lymphoma is very rare. It is usually diagnosed at an early stage and is usually slow growing. It tends to occur more in men and is often diagnosed in people under the age of 35. NLPHL can change into a type of non-Hodgkin lymphoma, but this is rare.

For more information

Icon: Phone


1800 200 700

Icon: Email